Log in

No account? Create an account


Judy Moffett
30 August 1942
External Services:
  • hefngafr@livejournal.com
Judith Moffett was born in Louisville in 1942. She is an English professor, a poet, a Swedish translator, and the author of eleven books in five genres, including four science-fiction novels and a Pulphouse Press story collection. Moffett earned a doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania, where she taught creative writing for fifteen years. Her first published story, “Surviving," won the first Theodore Sturgeon Award for best science-fiction story of 1986, and she won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 1988. Three of her stories have appeared on the final ballot for the Nebula; one of these, “Tiny Tango,” was also on the Hugo ballot. Her novels The Ragged World and Time, Like an Ever-Rolling Stream (Volumes I and II of her Holy Ground Trilogy of which this book is Volume III) were New York Times Notable Books for their years of publication, and Time, Like an Ever-Rolling Stream was short-listed for the Tiptree Award in 1995.

Moffett has received a number of awards outside the science-fiction field, including two Fulbright Grants to Sweden, a National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship Grant in poetry, and a National Endowment for the Humanities Translation Grant. Moffett divides the year between Swarthmore, Pennsylvania and her hundred-acre ex-farm near Lawrenceburg, Kentucky. Widowed in 1998, she lives with her standard poodles, Fleece and Feste.